2010 Alpert Awards Announced

The Herb Alpert Foundation and California Institute of the Arts (CalArts) are delighted to announce the five recipients of the 2010 Alpert Award in the Arts

Rachel Harrison in the Visual Arts category; Lukas Ligeti in Music; Susan Rethorst, in Dance; for the Theatre prize, Bill Talen aka “Reverend Billy,” and, in the Film/Video category, Jim Trainor.

With a $75,000 grant per artist, the Award supports our shared vision of the transforming power of the arts, and honors artists respected for their creativity, bodies of work, and ability to propel their art in new and unpredictable directions, making something that matters within and beyond their field.


The 2010 Residency Prizes have been awarded to:

Alpert/Hedgebrook Residency Prize:
Shawn Sides

Alpert/MacDowell Fellowship:
Hasan Elahi, James Hong, Caden Manson, Zoe Scofield

Alpert/Ragdale Prize:
Myra Melford

Alpert/Ucross Residency Prize:
Nayland Blake, Daniel Bozhkov, Nicole Mitchell, Stephen Vitiello

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.